Assurance

Most people in church’s today have very little assurance of their salvation.  For many years I was in the same boat.  I was constantly asking myself if  I had prayed enough, read my Bible enough, been at church often enough, etc.  I based my salvation upon those things instead of faith in the finished work of Christ on the cross.  What it boils down to is that you and I cannot do anything to merit our salvation.  Our sinful fallen nature makes it impossible to “do” anything for God.

Psalm 3:7-8 (ESV) – Arise, O Lord!  Save me, O my God!  For you strike all my enemies on the cheek; you break the teeth of the wicked.  Salvation belongs to the Lord; your blessings be on your people.

I used to read that and think that I could just arbitrarily call out to God and he would save me.  Yes, I do have to call out to God to be saved, just as everyone else does, but it is so easy to skip over the ramifications of verse 8 which states, “Salvation belongs to the Lord; your blessings be on your people.”  It is God who holds the blessing of salvation and he is the one that dispenses it to whomever He wills.

Oh, I hear the cries of anger that I would have the audacity to say that, but let me ask you something.  If I were to walk into a crowd of 100 people and choose 5 of them to give a gift of $100 to, who could say I was being unfair.  The money is mine (salvation belongs to the Lord) and I am free to choose who to give it too (your blessings be on your people).  God shares His common grace with everyone on the earth (see Matthew 5:45) which is way more than we rebels deserve, but his electing grace that calls us to salvation falls on those whom he has predestined before the foundation of the world (Ephesians 1:4-10) and is according to his purpose (Romans 8:28-30).

Because I know that He has chosen me, ripped the stubborn, rebellious, calloused heart out of me and replaced it with a heart that desires to serve Him, worship Him and acknowledge Him as Lord of all, I now have an assurance that comforts me instead of having the torment of wondering about it.

In that light, I would like to continue to share the posts of SlimJim from The Domain For Truth on Assurance.  Part 6, entitled “Assurance of Salvation Part 6: Do you understand the Gospel?” is the latest post, but I’ve placed links to the 5 prior posts as well.

Assurance of Salvation Part 6: Do you understand the Gospel?

Assurance of Salvation Part 5: Christians can Know that they are saved

Assurance of Salvation Part 4: Objections to Perseverance of the Saints

Assurance of Salvation Part 3: Perseverance means a Believer Endure

Assurance of Salvation Part 2: Foundation for Perseverance of the Saints.

Assurance of Salvation Part 1: Why study on the topic of Christian assurance?

And a big Uhrah! to SlimJim.  NavyChaplainPraysWithMarines

2 responses to “Assurance

  1. Hey brother Thomas!
    Thank you for posting this. You’re not by chance another Marine too as well are you?
    Thank you for posting this. There’s four more in this series, so four more Saturdays =)
    Your description of what it was like before understanding the assurance of Salvation described my first two years as a Christian in a Charismatic setting. It was such a roller coaster, with ups and downs and much ignorance and certainty as I look back. God has been gracious to show me His Sovereign Grace.

    • You are welcome! I have sent a response to you via the yahoo email account associated with your comment.