Is God Unfair?

Found this post by Tom Rogstad very insightful and thought I’d share it.

There are very few passages I’ve taught that have generated quite as much heat as The Parable of the Day Laborers in Matthew 20:1-16. The first time I ever taught this passage in church, I had just finished one of my first major projects fresh out of the MBA program. I had spent several months with our accounting firm, Delloitte Haskins and Sells, conducting a salary survey for the type of positions we had in the non-profit organization I worked for. There were very large income disparities among staff who had very similar skill sets and experience, as often happens when an organization has a mix of staff with longer-and shorter-tenure in the organization. Salary increases for employees who have been around for a while rarely keep up with labor market rates. Newer staff, then, get hired with larger salaries though they are relatively less experienced.  Read the rest here.

Comments are closed.