A Baptist Catechism – Question 2

Question:  What is the Chief End of Man?

Answer:  Man’s chief end is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

Scripture:

1 Corinthians 10:31 – So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

Psalm 16:11 – You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

Psalm 37:4 – Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 73:25-26 – Whom have I in heaven but you?  And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Isaiah 43:7 – Everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.

*From the Desiring God Website, edited and annotated by John Piper

Comments are closed.