Reading ATM

The Most Misused Verses in the Bible is my latest read.  I’m only 6 chapters into the book, but the thing I am learning most is that there is a principal in the Bible and it is very similar to the 3 Laws of Real Estate (Location, Location, Location).  The Law in the Bible is Context, Context, CONTEXT!

Some of the verses covered are Romans 8:28, Jeremiah 29:11, Matthew 7:1, Matthew 18:20 (which was the most enlightening to me so far and I will touch on below), and many others.

I’ve read Matthew 18 twice this year going through the reading plan I use (Professor Horners System) and I’ve heard verse 20 talked about, used in prayer, and preached on multiple times, but never really read it in the context of Church Discipline like Jesus is talking about in this section.  Jesus sandwiches Matthew 18:15-20 between two parables, one regarding the lost sheep and the other regarding the unforgiving servant.  Jesus is saying He will be present among his disciples as they seek unity in rendering decisions, which is understood also as an affirmation of His omnipresence.  This is the abbreviated version of what Eric Bargerhuff talks about in this chapter.  But I don’t think I’ve ever heard this passage preached on or taught on in that light.  Usually it’s presented in the context of two or three people praying together or congregated together in fellowship that Jesus is in their midst, and that is true, but not in context.

While this is not a book I would label as a “Must Read,” I would definitely give it a “Should Read” label for no other reason than I have heard all of the verses that I’ve read about in this book so far misused and take way out of their actual context, and I’m pretty sure that if you have sat in church for any length of time, you have too.

Comments are closed.