Daily Reading

I’m reading Vern Poythress’ book, “Inerrancy and Worldview: Answering Modern Challenges to the Bible,” (Free PDF Download here) and read the following:

Different worldviews lead to different conceptions of freedom. If there were no God, freedom might mean freedom to create our own purposes. It might mean freedom from all constraint, which implies, in the end, freedom from the constraints of personal relationships. The ideal freedom would be to live in isolation. On the other hand, if God exists and is personal, freedom means not isolation but joy in appreciating both other human beings and God the infinite person. God’s moral order is designed by God to guide us into personal fellowship and satisfaction. It is for our good. It is for our freedom, we might say, in the true sense of “freedom.” The person who goes astray from God’s wise guidance burdens himself with sorrows and frustrations. In fact, he ends up being a slave to his own desires.

I was struck by the phrase, “…but joy in appreciating both other human beings and God the infinite person,” because I’ve noticed something over the past few weeks in my view towards those around me. I work for a Midwest construction company and if you know anything about constructions workers, they can be an interesting lot to be around if you are a Christian. In the past, my attitude was to just do what I needed to do when I was around them since I work in the IT Field and support all the computers at the jobsites and corporate offices.

But lately, I’ve found my attitude a bit different. I have actually been looking at my unsaved, unregenerate coworkers through the lens of Christ. We as human beings are created in the image of God and reflect him in varying ways and it has been interesting to look at those around me day in and day out and see that reflection. No, I don’t like some of the things I hear or the actions I observe, but like the statement above says, I am able to find joy in appreciating the fact that those around me were created in the image of God. It has definitely been interesting.

Comments are closed.