Un-learning

Last night at our LifeGroup (my church’s version of a small group), we talked about living a victorious life in Christ.  We started off by watching a video by Francis Chan (watch it here).  It is a very powerful illustration about how we as Christ followers live in todays day and age.

Anyway, we were discussing this video and how we felt it challenged us to live a more risk filled life for God and Ashley (aka Big’un) chimed in.  He started talking about how when a lot of us first came to church, it seemed that a lot of what we were taught was “don’t do that”, “don’t go there”, “you can’t participate in that”, etc.  While he was talking about this, I was thinking that that described me and some of what I have been going through in the past few months.  I just had never thought of it quite like Ashley described it.  God has been taking me through an “un-learning” process.  This morning during my prayer time, I really spent some time praying that God would open my eyes and give me some insight into this process.

I am convinced that God is more concerned about the things He has told us to do, than He is about the things we shouldn’t do.  Jesus told us to love the Lord with all our heart, soul, mind and being and then love our neighbor as ourselves.  That is a “do” thing and if you do that in it’s fullest sense, you won’t commit any offense against God or your neighbor.  The whole law is summed up in that.  I think a lot of the church’s “bad rap” is that for so long, the church has majored on the “don’t do that, don’t go there, don’t participate in…” and we need to change our way of thinking.

I for one have a lot of un-learning to do, what about you?

Comments are closed.