Short

I’m sitting in the airport in El Paso, TX waiting to catch my flight back home at the moment.  I’ve been out here 3 other times in the last year dealing with the computer networks at several jobsites, but for some reason this time is a bit different.  I had a bit more time to take some time and see the city.  El Paso has changed a whole lot since I was out here the first time.

My first journey out here to this city was back when I was around 4 years old.  My Granny and Grandpa brought me with them when they came out here to visit my cousin Earl who was stationed at Fort Bliss.  About the only thing I remember is going up to the Franklin Mountain overlook.  We went up there after the sun had set so we could see the city lights below.  It was an awesome site to my young mind.  But the thing I remember most was Earl telling me to not climb over the wall because there were Rattlesnakes all over the place.

The other thing I remember was when I was a couple of houses down from Earl’s house playing with some neighbor kids.  I can still hear my Grandma calling me, telling me that my mom was on the phone and wanted to talk to me.  I ran to answer the phone and can still hear myself telling my mom, “Mom, I don’t have time to talk, I’m busy playing.”  I handed the phone back to my grandma and ran back down to play with the kids again.  Needless to say, my mom was crushed.

Today, I got an email from my step-mom, letting me know that Earl was coming up to visit her and my dad for a week.  Being here this week, then getting that email kind of got my mind to thinking since I didn’t have anything else to do while sitting here in the airport.  It’s been over 8 years since I saw Earl and it’s been over 40 years since I was here as a kid.  While that seems like a long time, for some reason, to me it seems such a short time ago.

Really, when you stop and get a bit philosophical, life really is short.  I can remember how Christmas never seemed to get here, and now, it’s only 3 months away.  Seems like we just celebrated the last one not so long ago.  The Bible is so true when it says that our life is just a vapor.  Almost makes me want to break out singing Kansas’ “Dust in the Wind”.  We kick, claw, scratch and fight for this life we are given.  We work all our lives only to die in the end.  What is it all for?  If it isn’t for Jesus, it is all wasted.  Dang, I’m sitting here about to bawl my eyes out thinking about this.

Jesus is our only reason for living.  He is all we should strive for, all we should work for.  I think deep down inside of us, everyone of us know this, but, even those in the church don’t keep this in sight.  Is it any wonder that the world looks at the Church with derision and scorn; calling us hypocrites.  We offer very little that is different than what they already have.

So, why should it be about Jesus?  Well, if all that there is to life is dying, how come we all just don’t end it all now.  Why isn’t suicide more prevalent among us?  Because we all have this deep seated fear of dying?  Why would that be?  Could it be that we know that death isn’t natural and that somehow, we were created for more?  I’m telling you, Eternity Beckons each and every one of us.  We all feel it in our quietest moments, but what we do with it is the true test.

We are all destined for more and we will never find it apart from Jesus and Him alone.  Life is short and Jesus is real.  Just think about what I’ve shared.  Ask yourself some hard questions about your life and how it is playing out.  I’m not going to tell you that giving your life to Jesus will make it better overnight, but over time, you will find more and more meaning in your life.  I know I am.

Comments are closed.