Slowly

I’ve been struggling in my walk with God lately!  My struggle has been in the area of how fast things are happening in my life.  So, this morning in my prayer time, I decided to just deal with it.  As I was asking God to move in my life, thoughts started entering my mind (next thing you know, I’ll be taking Prozac or something).  It was like God was speaking to me and telling me,

“Slow down!  You know, I told the snake right before I kicked Adam and Eve out of the garden that I would cause a Savior to come into being.  You know, her very first child could have been the One, but I decided to take a longer, slower approach.  Then, when the Savior did come, I could have come back at any time after that, but I haven’t yet.  What’s it been?  2000 years?  Take it easy, ok, I will get you to where I want you when it suits Me.”

Isn’t that just awesome?  If God is who He tells us He is, why do I spend so much time worrying about the future?  Why do I think I will never make it to where He wants me to be?  If God knew me before I was born and knit me together like David says in Psalms 139, He knows more about me than I do.  His word says that:

“Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ” (Phil 1:6).

God is the “Author and finisher of my faith” so He will get me where I need to go.  I just need to trust Him to get me there.

2 responses to “Slowly

  1. Thom,
    You are probably right where God wants you to be. Just be faithful in what he is putting in your hands to do. When God called me 50+ years ago, he showed me something special in a vision. Thirty years later I came to the place of total fulfillment. You just ask your wife about the palm trees and se what she says. The hardest part is to be faithful while we are waiting. I’m sure it wont be thirty years for you. As the Lord says, “BE STILL and know that I’m God!” By the way, you have people praying for you in Sweden, and they are very excited about what God is doing in your life and what is ahead. The waiting is the hard part. “If God is for us, who can be against us? … We are are MORE THAN CONQUERORS!” And, yes, God will get you there.

    Suegrita

  2. I agree w/ comment 1 above. You have such a big family & that was a God thing – every life is from God, no matter the circumstances which created that life – God is THE creator of all life. You know this. You’re life is fast paced to a big degree from the blessings God has rained down on you. Invest in those lives spiritually by not letting all the “to do lists” prevent you from teaching & showing them who God is. Slowing down would enable you to recognize those “teachable moments” with those precious little ones God has entrusted to you. I prayed over these written words & I believe they are from God, not me. I love you unconditionally however God loves you from heaven to earth & back to heaven again.