What If…

During the meditative portion of my prayer time this morning, I was thinking about some of the things I have read in the Scriptures this past week. I was also thinking about some of the thoughts that I wanted to share tomorrow night during the Bible Study I am teaching. Then, out of the blue, a series of questions ran through my mind:

  • What if the Bible is really true?
  • What if Jesus really meant what He said in John 14:12-14

“I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!”

  • What if Jesus was really Lord of our life and our every desire was to be like Him, glorifying Him?
  • What if we really believed that we were dead to our old life, our old ways, our sinful nature, and lived in the fullness of life that Jesus’ death provided us?
  • What if we realized how weak and powerless we are, and how mighty God is?
  • What if we understood that the same power that conquered the grave lives in us?

I’m going to make an statement here that some might not agree with, but that is ok.  Based on the questions above, the Church, as a whole, here in the United States, does not believe in the Jesus of the Bible!  What, you might ask?  I believe in Jesus, I believe He is the Son of God.  I believe that He died for my sins, rose again, and sits at the Fathers right hand interceding for me.  You might say these things as your Creed, but do the deeds of your life really bear that out?

John 14:12 says that we will do the same works that Jesus did!  It goes on to say that we will do even greater things because Jesus was going to the Father.  Jesus finishes up this portion of scripture by saying, “Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!”

Lets look at this in context because there are some who try and use Scripture to say that we can ask God for riches and wealth and we will receive it.  Yes, Jesus did say that He came to give us an abundant life (John 10:10).  But, don’ t think for a moment that that abundance has anything to do with earthly riches, wealth or material possessions.   If it did, then somehow the writers of what we have as the Bible missed the boat somewhere.  I can not find any reference anywhere in the Scriptures were Peter, John, Paul, Matthew, or any of the other disciples lived a life of luxury and ease.  According to tradition, John is the only disciple who died a natural death.  And even then, he died in exile, locked away.

These men changed the world of their time, and influence the world that you and I live in.  They were not perfect by any means, but Jesus touched their lives and, in turn, they gave their lives to Him.  We are called to do no less.  My prayer for my life, for those of you who read this blog, and the Church in America is that we will get our act together and start believing that the God who we say we trust can do through us what He says He can do.  We need to ask God to:

  • Use us for His glory.
  • Disturb our complacency and indifference.
  • Break us so that all we want is His will in our lives.

I’m praying this quite often and the closest analogy I can come up with is this:  If God is a train, while I can’t see the light yet, I am beginning to hear the noise and am feeling the ground beneath my feet rumble.  I am so excited about Him and what He is doing!  I am expecting Him to do some pretty amazing things not only in my life, but in the lives of my family, the lives of those in my local church, and the lives of all those in the community where I interact.  What about you?  Are you expecting?

One response to “What If…

  1. Thom,
    Keep up the good work. I am so happy and proud of the man of God you are becoming. I wish so much Bengt where here to “enjoy” this new Thom. But he has a part in this. You don’t even know how much he prayed for you. I think what you are experiencing and what God is doing in my life is a result of his prayers.
    You have hard work ahead of you, but just keep close to the Lord and don’t let the circumstances discourage you. I’m also VERY excited about the things God is going to do!!!
    Your Suegrita that prays for you every day