The Sting

I ran across a song today by Iris Dement called Let The Mystery Be and it got me to thinking about our fear of death. Here is a portion of the lyrics:

Everybody’s wonderin’ what and where they all came from

Everybody’s worrin’ ’bout where they’re gonna go

When the whole things done

But no one knows for certain

And so it’s all the same to me

I think I’ll let the mystery be

Some say once you’re gone you’re gone forever

And some say you’re gonna come back

Some say you rest in the arms of the Saviour

If in sinful ways you lack

Some say that they’re comin’ back in a garden

Bunch of carrots and little sweet peas

I think I’ll just let the mystery be

I’ve found that some people who claim to be Christ followers and almost all people who don’t claim to follow Christ either don’t want to think about death at all, or are terrified of the prospect. The problem with death is that we are all marching towards it; I like to say that we are born dying, and it is a mystery that we can’t understand. From a biblical perspective, death shouldn’t be feared at all. Hebrews 2:14-15 states:

Because God’s children are human beings—made of flesh and blood—the Son also became flesh and blood. For only as a human being could he die, and only by dying could he break the power of the devil, who had the power of death.
Only in this way could he set free all who have lived their lives as slaves to the fear of dying
” NLT.

But, I’m going to show a bit of my humanity by saying that while this is something I may “know” it isn’t exactly something easy for me to accept.  It is the very rare person who willingly steps into death, yet that is what Christ called us into.  If we truly accepted the fullness of Gods love, mercy and grace, we no longer have any control over ourselves. I’ve said it before, when Christ went to the cross for us, it was not a comfortable situation for Him. His humanity screamed to continue living, but His devotion to being obedient was greater. Death isn’t the end, it is really just the beginning. “For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain” Phil 1:21.

Comments are closed.