A Dream I Had

It is extremely rare that a dream wakes me up, but it is even more rare that one has me bolting out of bed. That happened to me on Sunday the 24th of May, 2009 at 4:45 AM!

In my dream, I was sitting in the back right seat of a black Cadillac Sedan being driven by a pastor. There were two other pastors sitting in the car also, to make a total of 4 of us. How do I know all of these people were pastors? I just did. We got in the car to go get something to eat for lunch and the man driving said, “watch this, I’ll show you what this car can do.” He tore out of the parking lot and was driving the car over some pretty rough ground, but the car seemed to float over it like an airplane flying through non-turbulent air. I saw areas on the ground that should have caused a rather large bump, but none of us in the car could feel it. Yet, I was terrified. This went on for about a mile and I became more concerned, even though I never felt a single bump.

The actual road that we should have been on was off to our right, and we were slowly getting closer to it. We started up a small hill and it was obvious that when we crested it, we were going to join the actual road. I looked at the speed-o-meter and saw that we were traveling at 80 MPH. I was just sure that when we crested the rise to join the road, we were going to leave the ground. When we did crest the hill, there was no sensation of leaving the ground. There was no jolt of a landing, nothing. It was as smooth as a pond on a calm day. The problem was that the pastor kept the same speed and the road was gravel and dirt.

Again, I looked at the speed and we were still traveling at 80 MPH. And while it appeared to be a smooth road, traveling at that speed on gravel and dirt is very dangerous. I asked the  driver to please slow down as I was now very uncomfortable with what was happening. Both of the other men in the car looked at me and just smiled. The pastor driving told me it would be OK. My terror level rose and I could feel myself getting extremely tense because my feet were pushing on the floorboard like I had a brake pedal there. I even tried opening the door in the hopes that it would cause the driver to slow, or stop the car. He just smiled as he looked over his shoulder and told me it was all right. Eventually, I screamed out at the man driving, “are you out of your freaking mind? This is crazy and I want you to stop the car right now! I won’t ride with you anymore.” He still wouldn’t slow down to let me off. That is when I awoke.

I then climbed out of bed and sought a place to pray because this really shook me and I don’t have dreams like this happen to me very often. In my mind I thought there had to be some significance for this dream. I sat on the couch and started to pray and the Lord shared with me the meaning of this dream. So here goes:

A lot of pastors in this day and age are driving their congregations down a road that has a lot of speed bumps from God on it. They are not feeling the speed bumps that should be alerting them to slow down or change course. The people in the congregation are un-aware also. There isn’t just one or two or even three of these speed bumps either. There must have been 8-10 of them in my dream, but the point is that God gives ample warning. Finally, like the crest in the hill that should have sent the car airborne, there is the final warning before the road seems to be smooth. The problem is, the road is extremely dangerous, it just doesn’t appear to be. How many pastors are leading their congregations like this? How many people are allowing themselves to be led like this? What will the end result be?

Romans 1:25 states, “Instead of believing what they knew to be the truth about God, they deliberately chose to believe lies. So they worshiped the things God made but not the Creator Himself, who is to be praised forever. Amen” God has set up speed bumps to get our attention, but if we ignore them, He will eventually turn us over to what appears to be the smooth road in my dream. It is a highway straight to hell and the end will not go well for those who travel down that road. Are you a pastor traveling down that road? Are you a congregation member who feels uneasy about the road you are being led down? If the thought even enters your mind that you “might” be on a road like this, PRAY! Seek Gods face, seek His will. Ask Him to share His wisdom with you. He will answer you. He will open your eyes. He loves you and wants the best for you.

Look, He won’t punish you for being on a journey like I described in my dream, although there will be consequences. He doesn’t so much care that you have flown over the speed bumps as he cares that you don’t end up in hell. Hell was never created for man, it was created for the devil and his followers, but if you continue to disregard the Creator, if you refuse to listen to Him and be obedient, hell is the final destination. Please, I’m begging you, evaluate the road you are traveling. Matthew 7:13-14 states:

“You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose the EASY WAY. 14 But the gateway to life is small, and the road is narrow, and ONLY A FEW ever find it.” NLT

In my bible, these words are in red which means that Jesus Himself spoke them. They aren’t to be taken lightly. They aren’t a suggestion. They are words to evaluate your life by. Please do.

Comments are closed.