Encouragement

I don’t know how many people actually read this blog as I don’t get a lot of feedback. To date, I have received 5 comments back from people that I have published, and of those 5 comments, 1 has come from 1 person, and the other 4 have come from another person. I’m not going to lie to those of you who read this, or even to myself. I will admit that I am a little on the frustrated side because of that. Actually, let’s take that a step further. I am a bit frustrated with God today. My prayer time this morning was the most difficult that I have experienced in quite some time. Seems I couldn’t concentrate and my mind kept wandering onto things that really don’t matter. For the past week, I’ve felt like I was just marking time and not going anywhere. I have even wondered if God still cares. But….

Have you noticed something in the above? How many times has the word “I” or a contraction of that word been used? Isn’t it funny how we have a tendency to just think about ourselves. Kind of shows our selfish, self-centered, sinful, human nature, doesn’t it? If only we would take the “I” out of the equation and put Jesus in! I want to encourage you to spend some time over the next few days trying to pray in a manner that takes you out of the prayer and puts Jesus into it.  I know I will be praying like that.   Like John the Baptist said, “He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less” John 3:30 NLT.

One response to “Encouragement

  1. Thom, you might need to “advertise” your blog some more so you can get more readers and hopefully replies. It takes time for things to take root. Your “seed” might still be in the ground, hidden away, but soon it will sprout, I’m sure! You just keep writing. If you want more coverage, let me tell all my friends about it.
    Life can be like the Andes Mountains; steep hills and low valleys. One day we’re up, another day we’re down, but Jesus is always the same.
    You just fix your eyes on Jesus and the wonderful (but surely challenging) plans he has for your life.