The Power of Prayer

Have I mentioned lately that I really love my prayer time? When I was much younger, I read books on prayer by E.M. Bounds and Larry Lea’s “Could You Not Tarry One Hour”. I can’t really say that they helped me learn more about praying because my perspective on prayer wasn’t correct at that point in time. As I remember it, I spent a lot of time asking God to give me, give me, give me, and very little time listening to Him. My prayer time is modeled on the Lord’s Prayer as found in Matthew 6:9-13, which Larry Lea’s book does expound on. But the thing that has made the most difference, at least it seems so to me, is that instead of me doing all the talking during my prayer time, I spend as much time listening. I’ve found that as I’m praying through the model Jesus gave us, I often stop and just think about God. More times than not, I’ve found Him speaking into my heart things that He wants me to know; which, in turn, leads me to more to pray about.

So, what makes prayer so effective? In my opinion, it’s the WORD OF GOD! I have always been a voracious reader. I love to read. If I have some quiet time, or I am at a doctors appointment, or someplace with time on my hands, I can’t just sit there. I have to have something to read. Yeah, I would read the Bible every now and again (at home), but my reading library was pretty secular in nature. It was nothing for me to spend an hour or two, or three lying on the couch with a book. But lately, I have put away the secular, and picked up the Bible. I’m telling you, if you need something to pray about, read the Bible. I’ve found that as I read Gods Word, a whole new world is opened up to me and I can’t help but pray. I bet that if you would devote yourself to reading a little bit of His Word every day for a month, you would find the same thing happening in your life. I challenge you to do this. If you start to notice a difference, give me a shout. I’d love to hear about how He is transforming your life.

Have a great day in the Lord.

Comments are closed.