Dreams

I usually don’t remember any of the dreams I have while I am asleep, but last night I had one that the Lord brought back to me while I was praying this morning. The interesting thing is that I have had this dream several times in the past few weeks. I do believe that God speaks to His people, and I believe that He uses dreams as one of those ways. Matthew gives several examples in his gospel. In Matthew 1:20, an angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph and instructed him to take Mary to be his wife, in chapter 2:12 the wise men were instructed not to return to Herod by a dream, and in verses 13 and 19, Joseph was instructed to move out of Israel and then back again when “…those who were trying to take the child’s life are dead.” These are just a few examples in a very short space and time in the Bible.

So, what brought this back to my mind this morning as I was praying? I drive through or near several towns on my way to work every morning and have taken to praying for them. I pray that God will begin to move in them. I pray that He will begin to tug at people’s hearts and wake them up to their need for Him. As I was driving down the Turnpike, I was looking off to my left and praying for Porter, OK when the Lord brought this dream back to me. For some reason, I feel that He wants to do something special in Porter. It isn’t much of a town. A Wikipedia search of the town returns this: “As of the census of 2000, there were 574 people, 229 households, and 160 families residing in the town.” As you can see, it is a very small town, but I seem drawn to the town and to pray for those families.

So, in the dream of mine, I am traveling through a town and pull into a Sonic to turn around and go back the way I came from. As I am making the turn around the backside of the drive-in, I can see buildings and houses peeking up above a ridgeline several miles away in the distance. When I see them, my heart just cries out for that town. I know deep inside that that is where I am supposed to be, but just can’t find my way there. Now, I’m not saying that God is calling me to Porter, but I know He is working inside of me. He is giving me vision! He is working in my heart and mind in ways that I haven’t experienced before.

Then I received a notice of a blog update from one of my favorite preachers, Perry Noble. He talks about how he entered ministry in 1990 and went through 9 frustrating years because he wanted to be doing more than he was doing. I know that feeling well. He ends his blog by writing: “For those of you in a place that feel like you want to be discovered, my advice to you is allow God to develop you, because being developed is one of the greatest gifts God could give us.” I want to be developed by God!!!!! I want Him to have His way in me so that when the time is right, I can find my way from that parking lot in my dream, to the place I am supposed to be.

2 responses to “Dreams

  1. John 15:5 I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

    It is good to read of a person who seeks to do the will of the Father. Keep yourself available.

    Think about this for a moment: What is the value of just one human soul?

    Let’s say you are used of the LORD to bring one soul into His Kingdom. And he in turn brings in two more……and those 3 each…… You getting my direction here. Now let’s say one along the way is called to lead a great spiritual awakening in a nation.

    Now the next question> Did the LORD use you greatly?

    I sometimes think those the LORD chooses to use in a mighty and great way may never realize this till he sees the LORD on judgment day and all our works are made known to us.

    Continue to walk by faith and not by sight.

  2. Thom, this is awesome! Just continue your prayer practice and be open to the Lord. When he wants to make something new in our life we usually become very uncomfortable in our present state, at least that is what I have experienced all my life. And sure enough, a new door of opportunity and service would open. It was not an easy path, but the Lord was with us. Now the Lord is working in my heart and I know he wants to use me in new ways. I wanted to start writing about it on my blog, but I’m disoriented at how to do it. SOS!