The Proof – The Faith

How does a person go about proving something that they know?  In most cases, take gravity for instance, you hold an object out, drop it and it falls to the ground.  Another instance is when you stick your hand against something hot and you end up with blisters.  So, the proof is, if you jump off of something, you will fall and if you put your hand in a fire, you get burned.  A lot of things can be proved by watching the effects or results of your actions.

Lets move into the realm of spiritual proofs.  How do you prove that  you know God has told you something or asked you to do a work for Him?  I have been wrestling with this all week.  My prayer time this morning was a huge struggle.  I feel like God has been dealing with me, calling me, if you will to do something for Him.  So, I was praying about what I feel (I hate to use that word, but nothing else seems appropriate) He is asking of me and the thought came to me that when we come to God, we have a tendency to ask for way too little.

Think about it!  Light travels at 186,282 miles per second.  In one minute, a beam of light travels 11,176,920 miles.  Lets break that down into something that we can put our minds around.  If a person tried to travel that distance over a 40 year period, they would have to drive 279,423 miles a year.  That is a little over 765.5 miles a day, 365 days a year for 40 years.  I don’t know about you, but I’ve made a couple of trips of that distance in a single day and it isn’t fun, so imagine doing it for 40 years without a break!

Now, consider that the light we receive from the sun takes, on average, 8 minutes and 18 seconds to reach us.  Because our orbit around the sun is eliptical and not a perfect circle, our distance varies. Using the same math I just used a moment ago, we would have to drive almost 6,367 miles a day for 40 years straight, just to get to the sun!  Lets not even think about getting to the next nearest star.  It takes light from Proxima Centuri 4.2 years to get here.

Ok, you might be asking why the science lesson?  If the distances and numbers I just gave you don’t convince you of the greatness of God, then there probably isn’t any point in you listening to anything else I have to say.  All that is around us, even the vastness of the universe, is God’s creation.  He created it!  And then we come to him asking for so little.  I sometimes wonder if He doesn’t get a little disgusted with us over this.  Can you imagine for a moment how He must feel.

Kind of reminds me of the Disney movie “Aladdin.”  Towards the end of the movie, Jafar is taking over the kingdom and trying to get Princess Jasmine to fall in love with him.  Jafar thinks he has total power, until Aladdin reminds him that the genie has more power, why,  because the genie is the one who gave Jafar his power.  Aladdin tells him, “Face it Jafar, you’re still just second best.”  And with that, Jafar makes his final wish to be an all powerful genie.  His wish is granted and you watch him turn into a powerful genie.  “Yes, yes”, he exclaims, “The power!  The absolute power!  The universe is mine to command, to control.”

“Not so fast, Jafar,” Aladdin says!  “Aren’t you forgetting something?  You wanted to be a genie, you got it!  And everything that goes with it!”

Shackles appear on Jafar’s wrists and he screams, “No!  No!”

Aladdin holds the lamp as Jafar is sucked down into it and says, “Phenominal cosmic powers.  Itty bitty living space.”

Is that what we do with our God?  He has phenominal cosmic power, but isn’t it amazing that we try to fit Him into our itty bitty living space.  While we realize that He has the power and ability to do anything, come on, He’s God, Right?  He should be able to do anything, but when we come to him in prayer, most of us don’t believe that.

Ephesians 3:20 (NLT) says, ” Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.”  Wow, that ought to shed a brand new light on what God wants to do with us and through us.  Infinitely more than we might ask or even be able to comprehend.  Our God is just waiting, probably even pleading that we would just ask Him for the impossible.

So, after this popped into my mind this morning, I knew exactly what I wanted to ask Him for, but I was skeeeeeaaard* to (see below).  Now don’t condemn me, I can’t be the only one who is afraid to ask Him for something big.  But the very next thought was, “why am I afraid?”  Because it is going to make me get out of my comfort zone.   Then I was reminded of Moses when he stood before the Burning Bush and heard the voice of God, yet still made excuses (Exodus 3:11-4:14).    Moses knew that he was going to have to go face some things that seemed overwhelming to him.  Remember, he had been a son of Pharoah, he knew exactly what he was going to face and he didn’t want to.

Ok, I’ve gone on a pretty long-winded journey here, but the bottom line is that I choose, and will continue to choose every day, to walk in obediance to my Lord and do what He has called me to do.  So, where is the proof, you might ask?  Well, I have written a letter to several trusted friends with what I feel God wants from me and have instructed them to hold on to them for the next two years.  I hope that what I wrote in those letters was too small.  That, my friend is The Faith!

*skeeeeeaaard is one of those “Americanism” we use that means “afraid”.

One response to “The Proof – The Faith

  1. I’m very excited about what the future holds for you and your family, because you guys are the closest to my heart. You, your wife, and my precious grandkids are the reason I chose to fight for life, and of course also the millions without Christ. I have very special prayers for each one of you, and as for you I use Psalm 112 as the basis and I pray that you will be a man after God’s own heart, a spiritual leader for your family. Don’t be skeeeeeaard because being in the center of God’s will is the best place, even if it can be a little tough around it. It’s more than 50 years since God placed his call on my life. I decided very early on that I would not “fight” the will of God because I would end up doing it, so why not obey at the first command?! This morning while you guys were at church and me feet were acting up big time (the cold house does not help, but that’s okay) God gave me a very daring dream and vision, and why not? He is a BIG God. Solomon wanted to build a big temple because he had a big God. One time when evangelist Reinard Boonke was in a financial need of $50, God asked him if he wanted a million dollars. reinard said no, he wanted one million souls!!! I serve the same God he serves, and if he can ask a thing like that, why can’t I? I’m going to write what God inspired me to ask for today and put it in my “safe” as a testimony, because I believe God will honor my request. So, let’s move ahead in Faith ad see what God will allow us to do in his Kingdom.